Kings and Emperors – A Book Review

By: Terresa Monroe-Hamilton

Purchase at MacMillan Publishers or

What a well-written and thrilling book! Kings and Emperors is the 21st book in the Alan Lewrie series by Dewey Lambdin. Now I will have to buy all of them. A good series is something I covet and relish. It’s better than Christmas. 😉

DEWEY LAMBDIN is the author of twenty previous Alan Lewrie novels. A member of the US Naval Institute and a Friend of the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich, England, he spends his free time working and sailing. He makes his home in Nashville, Tennessee, but would much prefer Margaritaville or Murrells Inlet. Just my kind of author and scoundrel.

A brief summary from

Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is still in Gibraltar, his schemes for raids along the coast of southern Spain shot to a halt. He is reduced to commanding a clutch of harbor defense gunboats in the bay while his ship, HMS Sapphire, slowly grounds herself on a reef of beef bones! Until Napoleon Bonaparte’s invasion of peaceful Portugal and his so-called collaborative march into Spain change everything, freeing Sapphire to roam against the King’s enemies once more!

As kings are overthrown and popular uprisings break out all across Spain, Lewrie’s right back in the action, ferrying weapons to arm Spanish patriots, scouting within close gun range of the impregnable fort of Ceuta, escorting the advance units of British expeditionary armies to aid the Spanish, and even going ashore to witness the first battles between Sir Arthur Wellesley, later the Duke of Wellington, and Napoleon’s best Marshals, as the long Peninsular War that broke Imperial France begins to unfold.

From Cáadiz to La Coruñna, Lewrie and Sapphire will be there as history explodes!

Dewey Lambdin is an American nautical historical novelist. The Alan Lewrie naval adventure series is his best known work. It spans the American Revolution and the Napoleonic Wars. Besides the Alan Lewrie series, he is also the author of What Lies Buried: a novel of Old Cape Fear. Lambdin has been writing since about 1988. How I missed his works is beyond me. I have been under the weather lately and this is a wonderful tonic for what ails you.

The other novels in the series are:

  • The King’s Coat (1989)
  • The French Admiral (1990)
  • The King’s Commission (1991)
  • The King’s Privateer (1992)
  • The Gun Ketch (1993)
  • H.M.S. Cockerel (1995)
  • A King’s Commander (1997)
  • Jester’s Fortune (1999)
  • King’s Captain (2000)
  • Sea of Grey (2002)
  • Havoc’s Sword (2003)
  • The Captain’s Vengeance (2004)
  • A King’s Trade (2006)
  • Troubled Waters (2008)
  • The Baltic Gambit (2009)
  • King, Ship, and Sword (2010)
  • The Invasion Year (2011)
  • Reefs and Shoals (2012)
  • Hostile Shores (2013)
  • The King’s Marauder (2014)

I’m a sucker for historical, adventure/military novels. I was thrilled when I got the book and enjoyed every single word of it. I warn you, the series is addicting. Here is an excerpt – Chapter 1 of the book… The Alan Lewrie naval adventure series should grace everyone’s bookshelves or Kindle device. Loads of fun and adventure await you with a very good read – pick up your copy here.

Donate to

Support American Values...